Chris Cooley Finally Having Fun At Work

AP Image

Redskins tight end Chris Cooley has a reputation for being a blue-collar, fun-loving guy both on and off the field.  While many players and coaches had referenced the change in attitude around the team this year, Cooley noted on the NFL.com’s Rich Eisen Podcast that this is the first time that he hasn’t had to conjure up his kick in the pants.

“It’s the first time since I’ve been here, that I like coming to work, that I enjoy the environment,” he said candidly.  ” I don’t have to make ‘fun’ up, it just ends up being crazy.”

That’s a pretty powerful statement for a guy that has had a lot of success and fun with the team over his seven-plus years with the club.

“I get to the Redskins facility at about 6:30, and I leave about 6 [p.m.].  I do a lot of studying, I spend a lot of time in meetings taking notes, and it’s a work day,” he explained.  “But, with that being said, I actually enjoy it.  I enjoy the time with our staff, I enjoy spending time with the guys.”

Cooley attributed the early success of the team this year, to offseason additions and coaching scheme.  Currently sitting at first place in the NFC East, Cooley was asked in the locker room yesterday about what it takes to make this team into a winner.

“The sense for me of what a division title would be, and the sense for me about what a great playoff team would be coming from guys around here that have done it,” he said.  “It comes from talking to Joe Theismann, it comes from talking to guys like Gary Clark–Joe Gibbs was a part of it. I’m aware of what it could be like, but I just don’t know what it will feel like, and I’m excited for that.”

Even more than his own personal goals, he understands what it would mean to the loyal residents of Redskins Nation.

“I’m excited for our fan base,” he said.  “Y’know, I’ve been here long enough that I’m a fan, and I know how the people here feel, and we want to make them happy. We want them to support us, but we want to win football games. I couldn’t imagine anything better as a player to feel the excitement that we would if we win some more games.”

Check out the rest of his interview below:
[castfire id=”castFireVideo” guid=”UwIWI” width=”620″ filename=”752817/redskins_2011-10-12-133717.895.m4v”]

Leave a Reply

