Chris Cooley, In His Own Words

[castfire id=”castFireVideo” guid=”UwIWI” width=”620″ filename=”768723/redskins_2011-10-27-140823.895.m4v”]

Despite his season-ending trip to injured reserve, tight end Chris Cooley maintained his humor yesterday, making light of his desire to be out on the field, helping his team:

“You guys will get a kick out of this, but I told Mike [Shanahan] that if we get to the NFC championship and we get to the Super Bowl, I’m going to come into his office and choke him when I’m standing in the sideline,” he said with a smile.

“Obviously, I’m kidding, but it’s tough to take,” he continued.  “It’s hard for me to, this early in the year, when I still believe we’re a very good football team, to say, ‘I’m going to sit and watch the games.’ I hate it. But it is what it is, and there’s nothing I can do about that now. There’s nothing I can do besides try to help our players – Fred Davis, John Beck – our coaching staff, and do everything I can to help this team. Obviously I can’t be on the field, so just taking it for what it is and make the most of it.”

Leave a Reply

